Metabolic Derangement

Standard

Go Maleo

This first post was actually the impetus to start this blog.  I have been reviewing various pieces of information related to the concept of slowing the metabolism from chronic dietary restriction or anorexia.  I have no doubts that this is a real phenomenon.  Medical science has no doubts that this is a real phenomenon. Whenever however a phenomenon exists people will double down on that phenomenon and use it as an explanation for all that ails them.

I see these claims in my clinical practice.  I call them the “I only eat salad” set.  My favorite example of this was the guy that told me he “Only ate salad” and couldn’t lose weight, but as he was saying it he had a 32 oz regular coke from the gas station under his chair- at 10 AM.  He wasn’t trying to lie to me. He just really had no idea how…

View original post 3,183 more words

Leave a Reply

