Why I lift heavy, and why should you!

Standard

I spent so many years concentrating in cardio and light weights, It kept me somewhat in shape but I still had some goals that just never seemed to get reached. One day I came across,now my “favorite article”, about lifting weights for woman (it’s in here) and never looked back. I was tired of putting so much work at the gym with long cardio sessions to look the same year after year, I wanted some kind of definition! No skinny, but curvy and toned. I’m hundred years away from my goal but since I started lifting weights and eating clean (except for my cheat meals that we talked about), holy crap! Have I noticed a difference!?!
I want to help woman understand this so they can get out of their comfort zone, come on! get rid of those 3-5 pound dumbbells and start challenging yourself a bit more πŸ™‚
Remember no pain no gain πŸ˜‰

20131112-132914.jpg

Here are some of the reasons why I love weightlifting so much and if something is working then I like to share!

1- It builds Confidence

It allows you to see what you are capable of doing and how much you will be able to do!

2. Gets Out of Your Comfort Zone

I like what personal trainer Nia Shanks has to say about it, “Don’t fall victim to the fitness insanity trap and do the same thing over and over again expecting different results. Yes, lifting heavy weights may be intimidating at first, but if you want to get results other methods have failed to produce, you’ve got to get outside your comfort zone. Likewise, if you want to test and build your physical strength, you have to challenge yourself in new ways”

3. Builds the Body You Really Want

You may have been told that cardio is the ultimate fat burner, but that effect stops the minute you hop off the treadmill. Build more muscle and you’ll keep your body burning fat all day long. According to one study, adding just two sessions per week of heavy lifting can reduce your body fat by three percent without cutting calories.
Another study from the University of Alabama in Birmingham showed that dieters who lifted heavy weights lost the same amount of weight as dieters who did just card, but all the weight lost by the weight lifters was primarily fat while the cardio queens lost a lot of muscle along with some fat. And more muscle, less fat translated to smaller clothing sizes than their less muscular counterparts.

20131112-133214.jpg

20131112-133601.jpg

One thought on “Why I lift heavy, and why should you!

Leave a Reply

